breakfast smoothie.

I know that I am way overdue for a post, and this recipe doesn’t count, but I did want to share something that I’ve spent some time perfecting and enjoying.

It’s my go-to smoothie. I make a lot of smoothies because I am so not a breakfast person, and this one is probably my favorite. It tastes like ice cream, which was an unintended but very welcome result. Smoothie, creamy, sweet, and packed with super foods and healthy fats. I’ve found that my day goes much better when I drink this. I have more energy, less stress, and a better mood. Who doesn’t need that on a Monday?

But enough talk. On to the recipe.

You’ll need:

1 cup of coconut water or almond milk (I alternate between these, but the consistency is always the same)

1 -1/2 cups of frozen banana coins (or 1 small to medium banana)

1/2 medium Hass avocado (I use the whole thing if I know I’m in for a rough morning)

2 tbsp. ground flaxseed

1 tbsp. chia, preferably organic

1 tbsp. bee pollen (I’m not talking about those capsules you can buy at a pharmacy)

1 tsp. raw honey

1 cup spinach

And of course, a blender. I’ve made this both in my Osterizer and in my Magic Bullet, and the Magic Bullet handles this much more quickly than my standard blender. However, it is not necessary to use a Magic Bullet, so don’t run out and buy one just for smoothies. Your friend here is just lazy and likes the convenience of the Magic Bullet cups.

If you’re using a standard blender, blend all of your liquid ingredients (honey, coconut water, flax, and chia first, then blend everything else. Add a few ice cubes to keep it cool.

For my Magic Bullet compatriots:

1. Blend coconut water/almond milk, banana, honey, and avocado together until smooth. Add spinach, and blend again.

2. Add bee pollen, flax, and chia, and blend. Use a little more coconut water if things are getting too thick.

3. Enjoy the fruits of your labor.

 

Lastly, I want to thank Honey Pacifica for sending me a jar of their Creamy Mango Honey. It really made this recipe even better (seriously, I had no idea that you could flavor honey!), and I very much enjoyed my jar.  Also, if you would like to try this recipe, but don’t know where to find bee pollen, look no further than Honey Pacifica.

 

 

Peace and chicken grease,

 

-Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

